Why talking to strangers is great..

After being in Barcelona for over a month, wandering and intentionally getting lost had quickly become a favorite pastime of mine while Andrés was in class!

It was during one of these miscellaneous (usually around 10 mile – ) walks, that I was talking a picture of a piece of graffiti and a stranger around my age came up to me and asked in spanish if I knew what I was taking a picture of. Shocked, I replied I just thought the mural was beautiful and had been spending most of that afternoon stopping to take photographs of different graffiti pieces. He was more than delighted to share that the piece referred to an organization he worked for that helped protect at risk youth – particularly through after school programs.

Considering he found me taking photographs we quickly began talking about whether I did photography professionally and if I’d be interested in volunteering with the organization in a few weeks simply by photographing one of the events they would be having in the neighborhood. I quickly shared that although I love photography I’m far from pro but would love to be helpful in any way I could. I followed him around the corner to the offices of the organization, left my contact info and promised I’d be there to help for a few hours the day of the community event.

Volunteering with Associació Gabella was one of my absolute favorite experiences of being in Barcelona. Essentially, the staff had organized a community ‘family/friend fun day’ for their students and any other families passing by in the neighborhood. It was an awesome bonding experience for the kids to get to bring some of their families to interact with one another and more importantly have a ton of fun with balloon animals, ping pong tournaments, bingo and delicious food made by a few of the parents of the kids. DSC_0197DSC_0243DSC_0266DSC_0277DSC_0311DSC_0325DSC_0362DSC_0441DSC_0490DSC_0492DSC_0500DSC_0516DSC_0527DSC_0537DSC_0544DSC_0558DSC_0560DSC_0566

Leave a comment